14 New Bloomfield Police Officers Sworn In, 10 Promoted

Monday, January 29, 2018

14 New Bloomfield Police Officers Sworn In, 10 Promoted

Sean Schwindt Named Bloomfield’s First Deputy Chief of Police Since 2005

BLOOMFIELD, NJ -- 14 officers were sworn in to the Bloomfield Police Department Friday night in an emotional ceremony that also saw 10 Police Department members receive promotions. The ceremony began with the pledge of allegiance, followed by speeches by Bloomfield Mayor Michael Venezia, State Assemblyman Ralph Caputo, and Bloomfield Director of Public Safety Samuel DeMaio.

The new officers all graduated from the Essex County Police Academy this fall. The sworn in officers are Bartosz Piatkowski, Suzanne Looges, Patrick Nimer, Daniel Freid, Ryan Vogel, Justin Smith, Eric Capito, Michael Cumming, Damian Sorrentino, Godson Noel, Jeffrey Koeck, Joseph Rivera, Tyler Ferrentino and Jonathan Heussler.

Four Police Officers were promoted to the rank of Sergeant: Dominick Sodano, George Bambera, Jeffrey Alfonso and Chad Smith. Three were promoted to the rank of Lieutenant: Michael Moleski, Thomas Icolari and Naomi Zepeda. Gary Peters and Vincent Kerney were promoted to Captains, and Sean Schwindt was promoted to Deputy Chief of Police, making him the first Deputy Chief since 2005. Each of the men and women receiving promotions had friends or family members pin their new badges on them, and were sworn in by Mayor Venezia.

“Bloomfield residents are lucky to have outstanding police officers keeping us and our families safe. On behalf of the entire Bloomfield Township Council, I am proud to welcome 14 new officers to our community,” said Mayor Venezia. “The leadership that begins with Director DeMaio, and extends to Deputy Chief Schwindt, empowers the entire Bloomfield Police Department to do excellent work that has lead to decreases in violent crime each of the last three years and counting.”

“Each and every one of the men and women joining the Bloomfield Police Department are committing themselves to the safety of Bloomfield and our surrounding towns’ residents. They have taken a pledge to follow due process, and handle themselves in accordance with our department’s high standards. I have the utmost confidence in their abilities to do so,” said Director DeMaio. “Sergeants Sodano, Bambera, Alfonso and Smith, Lieutenants Moleski, Icolari and Zepeda, and Captains Peters and Kerney have all demonstrated professionalism in their many years with our department, and will bring their experience to their new posts. Lastly, I want to congratulate Deputy Chief Schwindt on his promotion to his new position, where I am confident he will continue to lead by example.”

Back to Top