Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
To pay tickets and/or violations, go to the Police Department.
Address:Police Department1 Municipal Plaza2nd FloorBloomfield, NJ 07003
To learn about yard sale rules, contact the Building and Inspections Department.
You may obtain a Marriage or Civil Union License at the Health Department. An appointment is required; call 973-680-4029 to make an appointment. There is a $28 fee to be paid in cash.
You can get information on garbage and recycling by contacting the Department of Public Works and Park Maintenance at 973-680-4127.
To get a resident parking permit for on-street parking, visit the Police Department.
Address:Police Department1 Municipal Plaza1st FloorBloomfield, NJ 07003
Obtain a license for your dog or cat from the Municipal Clerk's Office.
Address:Town Hall1 Municipal PlazaRoom 214Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Go to the Health Department to get a copy of your Marriage or Civil Union Certificate.
Address:Town Hall1 Municipal PlazaRoom 111Bloomfield, NJ 07003
To obtain a license to be a landscaper in Bloomfield, visit the Clerk's Office.
Address:ClerkTown Hall1 Municipal PlazaRoom 214Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Contact Essex County Park System at 973-268-3500 for information on Brookdale Park concerts.
To obtain information about a car towing license, visit the Clerk's office.
Contact the Clerk's Office to get information about limousine/taxi driver licensing.
OPRA is a State statue that replaces the old “Right to Know Law” which governs the public’s access to government records in New Jersey. OPRA was enacted to give the public greater access to records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey. OPRA is designed to balance public interest in government records while respecting personal privacy.
A public record is one that is required by law to be kept to serve as evidence of something written, said, or done by a public officer authorized to perform that function. It can be any paper, written or printed book, document, drawing, map, plan, photograph, microfilm, data processed or image processed document, information stored or maintained electronically or by sound-recording or in a similar device.
Anyone may file an OPRA request and may do so anonymously. OPRA does not prohibit outside citizens from filing requests and while space for contact information is provided, it is not required to submit an OPRA request.
A request for access to a government record must be in writing and hand-delivered, mailed, transmitted electronically, or otherwise conveyed to the appropriate custodian. OPRA requests CANNOT be made over the telephone. The municipal clerk’s office has request forms available or they can be found online at https://www.bloomfieldtwpnj.com/FormCenter/Municipal-Clerk-10/OPEN-PUBLIC-Request-for-Public-Records-55
The municipality will charge for the cost of printed matter if a physical copy is requested. The standard price for these expenses will be $0.05 per letter size page or smaller, $0.07 per legal size page or larger, and $1.00 for video or audio that must be downloaded onto a CD disk. It is preferred that documents be sent via E-mail but audio and videos cannot be sent via E-mail. The preferred method of payment (if any) is check or money order.
Under the OPRA law, records custodians have seven business days starting the day after an OPRA request is filed to provide the requested record.
It is important to remember that OPRA requests are requests for documents NOT information. It is necessary to have a specific government record in mind when filing a request. If a request is overly broad or does not specifically name identifiable records, a custodian may deny access. While a custodian may reach out for clarification, it is worth noting that the request may not be fulfilled as quickly. “Any and all records regarding ____” is NOT a sufficient OPRA request. The requestor should identify the specific type of document, the department it pertains to, and the dates of the requested documents.
The Bloomfield Fire Department's paid force is governed by the rules and regulations of the New Jersey Department of Personnel. A state test is given every 2 years in which you are scored and ranked. The Township then receives a list of eligible candidates, and when a vacancy occurs, a position is then offered to the person or persons on the top of the list. More information regarding the testing process can be found on the New Jersey Department of Personnel's website.
Yes. New Jersey State Law requires that each home have a carbon monoxide detector. Carbon monoxide detectors shall be installed outside of the sleeping area. The Fire Department has specialized equipment to test the air for carbon monoxide. A sounding detector could mean that there is a high concentrate of carbon monoxide in your home. Carbon monoxide is called the "Silent Killer" because it can reduce the amount of oxygen we breathe. Since carbon monoxide has no smell, we have no idea when you have a leak.
It depends on the type of residence you live in. One and two family homes, built prior to 1990, can use battery-operated smoke detectors. All other homes, 3 family and above, are required to have hard wired smoke detectors, either 120 volt or 24 volt. All new homes built after 1990 should have hard wired smoke detectors in them.
Smoke Detectors are designed to provide an early warning to a fire. Smoke detectors should be located in Common Areas (i.e. stairways and basements) and inside sleeping rooms and there should definitely be one just outside of all of the sleeping rooms.
When a battery starts to run low on power, the smoke detector will chirp intermittently to alert you to change your battery. However, you should not wait until it chirps to change the battery. Batteries last about one year in a smoke detector before they start to lose power. A good rule of thumb is to change your batteries when you change your clocks. That will have you changing your batteries at least twice a year enabling your smoke detector to have a good battery in it at all times.
Not only will we install a smoke detector for the seniors and needy, but if they live in a one and two family house, and can’t afford a smoke detector, we will provide one for you for free. Unfortunately, you must live in a one or two family house. New Jersey State Law requires that landlords provide smoke detectors to tenants in homes 3 families or larger, therefore we are unable to provide those people with free smoke detectors.
Bloomfield Township Code requires that all people who sell their homes must get a Continuing Certificate of Occupancy from the Building Department. This certificate will suffice for the smoke and carbon monoxide detector compliance. Should your bank insist on a separate certificate, the Fire Prevention Bureau will issue the separate certificate. (There is a $35.00 charge so see if they will accept the one certificate; New Jersey State Law allows for the use of one certificate.)
Strictly, no. It is a violation of the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code to burn openly. This includes leaves, branches, lumber, paper and cardboard. Absolutely no open burning of any kind is allowed.
Propane grills are prohibited from being used on terraces. The reason is that the propane gas, not the fire, presents a danger to the home.
The New Jersey Uniform Fire Code and the National Fire Protection Association recommend that propane appliances are the safest when used a minimum of 5 feet away from a building.
As a "Service Oriented" department, we will endeavor to assist you in gaining entrance to your home if you are locked out. Some new doors and/or locks make it impossible for us to gain entry without doing damage to a door or window. But should you find yourself in this situation, call us and we will do our best to assist you.
Most basement apartments are illegal, especially in 3 family houses, because they do not meet the egress requirements of the building code.
If you have a basement apartment or are considering building one, please check with the Building Inspector in Town Hall for information on requirements and compliance with the Building Code.
If an oil tank is not used anymore, an owner has one year to have it removed or abandoned in place. A Fire Sub-Code permit from the Building Department is required. If an oil tank was removed, and a permit was obtained from the Building Department to remove it, the documentation is available in the Fire Department and/or the Building Department. Just give us a call at the Fire Prevention Bureau and we will check it out for you.
As much as we love little animals, we will attempt to help you but, we cannot risk a firefighter’s safety in doing so. We will endeavor to help you but most cats come down the same way they get up.
The Fire Department does assist residents when local flooding occurs. However, we may not be able to 'pump out' all of the accumulated water. Generally speaking, the pumps available to the department and the town, are used only when there is more then 10 inches of standing water. The pumps will only pump down to approximately the 6 inch level.
A flooded basement has two main safety concerns. Should the water level reach any electrical outlets or the electrical panel. The entire basement could be electrically charged and power should be disconnected before stepping into the water. Additionally, if you have gas heat and/or hot water, the gas main should also be shut down as to prevent natural gas leaking into your home. Only the Public Service Enterprise Group should re-light your heating unit or your hot water heater.
While no one desires to create unnecessary 'noise' and disturb the public's rest, the use of sirens and air horns are necessary and in fact required by law to alert drivers and pedestrians of the presence of emergency vehicles responding to an incident. In today's world with drivers using air conditioning, cell phones, and loud car stereos, many drivers have a difficult time hearing and responding to oncoming emergency vehicles. While every effort is made to limit the use of sirens and air horns at night and early morning hours, their use cannot be eliminated completely.
The Fire Department does not collect or dispose of old propane tanks or fire extinguishers. They can be disposed of through the Essex County Hazardous Waste Facility. The facility usually schedules one day in the spring when you can bring certain hazardous materials that need disposal to their facility. Their phone number is 973-857-2350.
Many homeowner insurance companies will ask how far your house is from a fire house and a fire hydrant. Every structure in Bloomfield is located within 200 feet of a fire hydrant and within 1 mile of a fire station.
Please read the Protection from Contamination section (PDF) of Chapter 24 (PDF) in Sanitation in Retail Food Establishments and Food and Beverage Vending Machines.
Please read the Heating Ordinance (PDF).
View the License application and pre-opening requirements (PDF).
Read the following documents on Food Establishments:
Yes; view the Food Handlers Course Schedule (PDF).
Limited financial assistance is availablefor Essex County residents. Call us for eligibility criteria 973-680-4017
The Essex county welfare workers assist residents once a month tocomplete new NJ SNAP applications. Call 973-680-4017 for an appointment.
There are a few utility assistance programs available depending on incomeeligibility. We may assist with the applications by appointment. Applications are also available online:
Wehave a certified application counselor in our office.
Contact us to set up anappointment to discuss your options. 973-680-4017
You can also visit the marketplace
Weprovide mental health services such as counseling for residents who are notinsured or are underinsured.
Contact usfor more information 973-680-4017
Thereare various services provided for seniors such as Medicare savings programs,volunteer services, food services, transportation resources etc.
Contact us forresources 973-680-4017
Llame a Servicios Humanos al 973-680-4017. Usted podría ser elegible para la subvención para la prevención de la falta de vivienda. A continuación se presentan las directrices para el programa.
Leer el folleto de la van movil de bienestar (PDF).
Lea los siguientes recursos:
Leer el Servicios de Salud Mental (PDF).
Yes. Please call the office at 973-680-4058 for schedule dates and times. You may view upcoming screenings on the Available Screenings page.
Yes. Please call the Public Health Nursing Office at 973-680-4058 for details and appointment times. Attached for your convenience is the required screening / consent form (PDF).
Yes; the Blood Chemistry Screening is offered twice a year. Please call the Public Health Nursing Office at 973-680-4058 for details and appointment times. Prepayment and pre-registration are required. Attached for your convenience is the required screening / consent form (PDF).
No; attached are recommendations on safe syringe disposal (PDF) as provided by the New Jersey Department of Health.
Lea esta una lista de servicios disponible (PDF).
Si. Por favor llame a la oficina 973-680-4058.
Si. Por favor llame a la oficina para mas detalles y una cita 973-680-4058. Adjunto para su conveniencia es el formulario de detección / consentimiento requerido (PDF).
Sí. La Prueba de Química de la Sangre se ofrece dos veces al año. Por favor llame a la Oficina de Enfermería de Salud Pública al 973-680-4058 para detalles y horarios de citas. Se requiere prepago y pre-registro. Adjunto para su conveniencia es el formulario de detección / consentimiento requerido (PDF).
No. Se adjuntan recomendaciones sobre la eliminación segura de la jeringa (PDF) según lo proporcionado por el Departamento de Salud de New Jersey.
TheHousing Choice Voucher Program waiting list is currently closed. No newapplications are being accepted at this time. Whenthe waiting list is reopened, the dates, times and location to obtain applicationswill be advertised in the Township newspapers, the Star Ledger and other media.
Once you are on a waiting list, your wait timevaries greatly depending on the office you applied through. Some offices placeapplicants on the waiting list by random lottery, and some by date and time theapplication was received. Because of the high demand of affordable housing, andcomparatively low supply, it is not rare to be on a waiting list for severalyears. Generally, large metropolitan areas have long waiting lists, while lowerpopulated areas have shorter waiting lists. Major factor is all based onfederal funding availability.
Yes, you can applyanywhere in the country, and there is no limit on how many waiting lists youcan apply to. However, duplicate applications for the same waiting list willlikely be terminated. It is important to keep a record of all waiting listsyou apply to. Not only is it good for your own general knowledge, but also ifyou need to update application information or find out your waiting liststatus. If the housing office gives you a confirmation number, keep thatinformation as well.
Ifyou are a current voucher holder and you are interested in porting into anyPHA, you must first request to exercise the Portability option from yourcurrent Housing Authority. If found eligible to port, your Housing Authoritymust submit to the following paperwork to the appropriate Housing Agency youwant to port out to. Simple Visit HUD.gov for PHA Contact List at: https://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/public_indian_housing/pha/contacts
Beforeany appointment is scheduled it is highly recommended calling BloomfieldHousing Agency for clarification on our guidelines and procedures; includingpayment standards update please call (973) 680-4189 any time after Time8:30am.
You mustappear in court on the date indicated on the summons. At that time you will be informed of yourrights in the Municipal Court. You maywish an opportunity to seek legal counsel, or you may apply for a publicdefender. In any case you will bedirected by the Municipal Court Judge as to the next step.
Anyperson who is dissatisfied with the outcome of their case, they may file anappeal to the superior court of New Jersey. 1st step is to request a transcript from Bloomfield Municipal court, check or money order made out to G & L Transcribers for $500.00, then you can either ask for an appeal packet at our violations bureau window or you may go to Municipal Court Forms on this website and print it out for yourself.
Allfines and court costs are expected to be paid the day of court. If you cannot pay them you must fill out afinancial questionnaire and you will be seen by the judge to determine youreligibility.
If youfail to comply with a Court Directive, the Municipal Court may order a benchwarrant for your arrest, suspend your driver and or registration privileges andimpose additional sanctions for your noncompliance.
Itdepends on the ticket type and who issued the ticket. If it’s a Electronic ticket (the prefix wouldbegin with an E) it’s automatically I our court system. If it’s a Bloomfield officer who issued ahandwritten ticket it will take about 4 to 7 days to be entered into oursystem. If it’s a State police officeror any other officer it can take up to 2 weeks (14 days) to be entered in toour system.
No, youhave to pay the ticket in the town in which you received the ticket.
You canobtain a marriage license in the health dept. in the town which you or your partnerlive in.
We havea wedding schedule only 1 wedding per day and only on specific days andtimes. If you would like for our Judgesto marry you, you must contact this office to make an appointment.
On yourcourt day you need to ask the judge for a financial questionnaire fill out theapplication the judge will review it, and assign a public defender to you ifyou are approved.
On yournext court date.
TheEssex County Probation Dept. will assign the location. They will take into consideration where youlive and work.
Alldiscovery requests should be directed to the Bloomfield MunicipalProsecutor. You may mail it in, or faxit.
Allpoints are assessed by the NJ MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION.
Monday through Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm and Wednesday night from 6:00pm - 8:30pm. We care closed on municipal holidays.
The Dial-A-Ride program is a free transportation service that is available to all senior citizens over the age of 60, or a person with a disability or handicap. You must be a Bloomfield resident. Eligible residents can schedule rides by calling (973)566-7194 during regular business hours. We take appointments up to one month in advance, but it is on a first come, first served basis. This is a curb to curb service that picks up residents and takes them to any destination throughout Essex County.
Yes! The Civic Center is open to residents and non-residents for social gatherings and parties on Saturdays and Sundays from 12:00pm - 10:00pm.
The Bloomfield Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department is housed inside the Civic Center, 84 Broad St. We are open Monday through Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM and Wednesday nights from 6:00 – 8:30PM. Our main number is 973-743-9074. Our main email is firstname.lastname@example.org
Yes. We have an elevator located in the back of the Civic Center accessed by the State St Parking Lot. Our 1st floor bathrooms are ADA compliant and handicapped assessable. There are handicapped parking spots located in the State St lot.
Yes. There are metered parking spots around the Civic Center and in the State Street Parking Lot. Metered parking is enforced Monday – Saturday 8:00AM to 6PM.
Yes, township organizations can use the Civic Center to hold their monthly or bi-monthly meetings. Room availability is on a first-come, first-served basis.
Organization Request Forms can be found on our website and should be submitted to Recreation Leader, Frank Volante.
If you are a business looking to rent out the Civic Center for an event or activity please call Recreation Director Michael Sceurman at 973-743-9074. We do not allow applicants to conduct regular business activities at the Civic Center.
Yes! The Civic Center is open to residents, and non-residents, for social gatherings and parties on Saturdays from 2:00pm – 10:00pm, and Sundays from 1:00pm – 10:00pm.
A minimum of 3 hours must be requested, and 1 extra hour is offered for free for set-up.
A $150 cash deposit, separate from the room rental fee, is due 2 weeks after requesting the space. (The deposit will be held until after the event in case of damage)
Absolutely no ALCOHOL, GLITTER, GLUE, CONFETTI, or SILLY STRING is allowed.
The room must be left in the condition it was found.
Resident Rate: $55.00 per hour Out-of-Town Rate: $75.00 per hour
Special Event Request Forms can be picked up at the Civic Center or downloaded on our website. Completed applications should be submitted to Recreation Leader, Frank Volante.
The Recreation Department offers a wide range of activities for adults. Apart from our special events, we host seasonal fitness programs such as: Yoga, Medication, Fitness Bootcamp, Zumba, Pilates, Tai Chi. We offer Sign Language, Language, Calligraphy, Art Classes, and Ball Room Dancing. We also offer Men’s Open Gym Basketball and Co-Ed Pickle Ball in the winter.
In addition to the several programs and events open to all ages, the Recreation Department offers Senior Exercise twice a week, Zumba Gold twice a week, and Tai Chi for seniors looking to stay active. We also have a Senior Club that meets monthly. For more information on senior activities please call Neyden Kinch-Sousa at 973-743-9074.
We do offer several high school aged programs, but we do not want to directly compete with all the extracurricular programs Bloomfield High School currently offers. We do offer a boys Intramural Basketball League for those who do not make the high school team. Several of our programs are geared for ages 13 and up! If you have an idea or suggestion for a program geared towards high school students please send you suggestion to email@example.com.
For more information on high school activities please click here to be redirected to the Bloomfield High School’s website https://bhs.bloomfield.k12.nj.us/
To be up to date on our programs and events you can:
Or you could always stop in the Civic Center and talk to one of our staff members
If you would like to suggest a new program/event, please email firstname.lastname@example.org. We will email you a Program Proposal Form that you could fill out and submit back to us for review. Many of our current programs have been suggested by residents just like you!
Most of the seasonal programs administered by the Bloomfield Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department require pre-registration. You can find our Community Pass Registration portal on our website, www.bloomfieldrecreation.org.
Our goal is to provide quality programming at affordable prices for our residents. Contributing factors for pricing are payroll for instructors, equipment costs and any other administrative costs associated with that program.
You can call our weather update number at 973-743-7593, visit our Facebook page and/or you will receive and email from a staff member who administers that event or program.
If you no longer wish to be enrolled in a program, please notify a Bloomfield Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department staff member via email@example.com or 973-743-9074.
If you notify a staff member after the program has ended there will be no refunds or credits issued.
Refunds are issued via the Township’s purchase order system. A new vendor form must be filled out and submitted to our staff member in order to start the purchase order process.
A $25 fee will be applied for all returned checks. This fee must be paid in addition to the original program fee prior to participating in the program.
We run a wide variety of transportation services for the township. Please click here https://www.bloomfieldtwpnj.com/223/Transportation to be redirected to the transportation page where you can find out more information on our transportation services
The Dial-A-Ride Program is a free transportation service that is available to all senior citizens over the age of 60 and/or a person living with a disability or handicap. You must be a Bloomfield resident to be eligible. Eligible residents can schedule rides by calling 973-566-7194 during regular business hours. We take appointments up to one month in advance, but the service is first come, first serve. Rides are predominately for medical purposes but also include transportation to the barber/beauty shop, visiting sick relatives, gravesites, supermarkets, local shops as well as to volunteer jobs and recreational activities. This is a “curb to curb” service that picks up residents and takes them to any destination throughout Essex County.
Permit applications for Bloomfield Municipal Parks are available at the Bloomfield Civic Center, 84 Broad Street during normal business hours, or you can visit online at https://www.bloomfieldtwpnj.com/213/Facilities. All park permit applications should be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Brookdale Park and Watsessing Park is overseen by the Essex County Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department. Their number is 973-268-3500.
Brookdale Park is an Essex County Park and is not run by the Bloomfield Township Recreation Department. The phone number for the Essex County Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department is 973-268-3500.
The Bloomfield Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department administers the sports programs for the middle school.
Early registration is $55.00, once the deadline is up the cost is $60.00. If your child makes the Suburban team there will be an additional $15.00 fee.
The Bloomfield Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs Department administers the evaluations/tryouts. There are full time staff members, part time staff members, paid and volunteer coaches and independent evaluators who assess every players’ talent. The top 10-14 players will be selected for the Suburban Traveling Team and the remaining players will be divided up into fair and competitive In-town teams.
Your child should make every attempt to participate in all of the scheduled evaluations/tryouts regardless of what level they want to play.
All of the players that did not make the Suburban Traveling Team have been evaluated and will be divided into fair and competitive teams by the Bloomfield Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs administrative staff. Teams can be comprised of 6th, 7th and 8th graders
No. If your son or daughter makes the Suburban Traveling Team they are not allowed to play in the In-town Basketball League.
Yes, your child can play both but there may be minor conflicts. We always encourage 6th graders to view their Home and School Basketball Teams as their priority.
For the Suburban Traveling Team there are approximately 2-4 practices a week during the start of the season. Once games start there are usually 2 practices a week and 2 games a week. Suburban practices are at Bloomfield High School. Games can be played at the Middle School, High School and away games are played anywhere within Essex County. Games and practices can be played Monday – Saturday. For the In-town Basketball League, there are practices 1-2 times a week before the season starts. Once the season starts, traditionally there is one game a week and potentially a practice. Games and practices are usually 1 hour each and are held at the Bloomfield Middle School only. Games and practices have always been played Monday – Friday at 6pm, 7pm or 8pm. Occasionally a practice or game will be held on a Saturday but parents are informed well in advance.
For the Suburban Traveling Team playing time is at the sole discretion of the Head Coach. Playing time is earned, not guaranteed. In the In town Basketball League everyone must play a minimum amount of playing time (usually around a minimum of 12-15 minutes)
If your child makes the Suburban Basketball Team a full uniform (shorts and jersey) is issued to your child. They are required to take care of that uniform as per the uniform instructions. Uniforms must be returned at the end of the season. For the In-town Basketball Team you will receive a T-Shirt for your team. Players must wear athletic shorts or sweat pants. All players must wear athletic sneakers.
No. Transportation is not provided. The Suburban Basketball Teams are encouraged to “carpool” if parents are willing to participate. Coaches are NOT allowed to transport any players (unless they are a family member).
Fans are permitted in home and away gyms for games only. Practices are closed to the public, including parents. Our fans represent our community. All fans must adhere to the fan code of conduct. Failure to adhere to the fan code of conduct could result in removal from the gym.
To be a Suburban or In-town Team you must fill out a coaching application. All applicants must be background checked and must possess a Rutgers SAFETY Certification (or equivalent). For more information please call Recreation Leader, Dana Morton at 973-743-9074.
Although these independent organizations work closely with the Recreation Department, they are separate entities and run as such. You can find their information below:
William Foley Football/Cheerleading
James McDaniel – email@example.com or visit www.bloomfieldjrbengals.com
Bloomfield Soccer Club
Barry Weiner –www.bloomfieldsoccer.us or visit http://bloomfield-soccer.com
Bloomfield Little League
Steve Pekar - firstname.lastname@example.org or visit their Facebook page Bloomfield Little League of New Jersey
Bloomfield Senior League Baseball
Jon Cipollina - email@example.com
Summer Camp registration usually starts on the 1st Wednesday of May.
Summer camp usually starts the first full week after school end and runs for 6 consecutive weeks.
The cost of summer camp is based on several factors including staffing costs, minimum wage costs, equipment, and other costs. A full week of camp is usually around $150 - $175 per week. We usually offer a multiple child discount.
NO - Children must attend their assigned camp location.
No. Our registration costs go directly to staffing and supplies.
Cask, Check, Money Order or Credit Card
Summer Camps are usually held in Board of Education Elementary Schools. Due to construction projects and school availability these locations often change and are not confirmed until the until the time of registration.
Cell phone use is prohibited during camp hours, particularly social media, texting, gaming, YouTube, etc. If a family wants their child to bring their phone, it will remain turned off in a backpack. Students must ask permission to use their phones under staff supervision. If a parent needs to get in touch with their child, they will call the camp phone number. This aligns with the school district’s policy.
Summer job applications are available for pick up at the Civic Center, 84 Broad Street, the first Monday in April and will be due in May.
Current 9th graders are considered for Summer Sports Clinic positions and current 10th graders and older can be considered for summer Camp positions.
At this point, Bloomfield does not have a town pool.
Yes we have a program to assist residents with registrations fees. Please visit our website http://bloomfieldtwpnj.com/1550/Financial-Assistance-Program for more information and/or to download the application.
Contact the State Department in Washington DC at (202) 955-0307.
Your record must be issued by the local officeof vital records where the birth occurred or the Office of Vital Statistics andRegistry and must contain a raised seal. Some entities require the document tohave been issued within the last two years. Complimentary copies issued by ahospital are not valid.
Since there are many unique circumstances toamending records it is suggested you contact this office for furtherinformation or the State of New Jersey Office of Vital Statistics &Registry - Record Modification Unit toll-free at 1-866-649-8726 extension 581.
Yes, within the State of New Jersey certifiedcopies are required to contain the raised seal of the issuing authority, eitherthe local office of vital records or the Office of Vital Statistics andRegistry.
Yes. In order to obtain this information youmust purchase a certified copy of your record. The time will be included on thebirth certificate only if the doctor recorded it. You should indicate on yourrequest that you wish the certified copy to show the time of birth.
Yes, but you willreceive a certification rather than a certified copy. A certification is anon-certified document, which contains limited information and states it is forinformational purposes only, not for identification or legal purposes.
Under our currentsystem, births are filed within three weeks of the completion of thecertificate by the hospital.
In order to request a delayed report of birth,you must first file an application requesting the birth certificate to ensurethe record is not on file. If no record is found, you will receive a No Recordstatement, which must be returned with a letter of request to place a delayedreport of birth on file. You will receive a questionnaire to complete so that amore detailed search can be completed. You will also need to providedocumentary proof that the birth took place. Documentary proof will be reviewedand a determination made. Please contact the Record Modification unit toll-freeat 1-866-649-8726 extension 581 for further information.
The application must be filed in the New Jerseymunicipality in which either applicant resides and the license is validthroughout the State. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, theapplication must be filed in the municipality where the ceremony will occur andthe license is valid ONLY in the issuing municipality.
No. Domestic partners who wish to enter into acivil union with the same partner do not need to terminate their domesticpartnership. Once they have entered into the civil union, their domesticpartnership automatically terminates, if it was originally registered in NewJersey. If it was registered outside New Jersey, the laws of that statewould determine the validity of the domestic partnership following the civilunion.
Yes. If thedomestic partnership with a different partner was not legally terminated, orwas not terminated by the death of the previous partner, you must terminate thedomestic partnership before entering into a civil union with someone else.
If your civil union meets the requirements ofthe state in which you registered, then it is recognized by the State of NewJersey.
No. You are not required to enter into acivil union in New Jersey. If your civil union or same-sex marriage meets therequirements of the state or country in which you registered, then it isrecognized by the State of New Jersey as a civil union. However, if you wish,you may also elect to enter into a civil union in New Jersey. In thatcase, you would file for a Reaffirmation of Civil Union License in New Jersey.
Yes. There is a 72-hour waiting periodbefore the license can be issued. The waiting period begins once theapplication has been filed by one or both applicants. A Superior Courtjudge can waive all or part of the 72-hour waiting period.
No. For a Reaffirmation of Civil UnionLicense, there is no waiting period, the license can be issued immediatelyafter the complete application has been filed.
Yes. It is recommended you check theInternet website for the particular Internet ministry to verify that theirministers are authorized to perform civil union ceremonies.
Public officialswho are authorized to perform marriages are authorized to perform civilunions. Public officials may choose whether or not to exercise thisauthority. However, if a public official agrees to perform marriages, heor she must agree to perform civil unions. If an official elects not toperform civil unions, he or she cannot perform marriages either. Publicofficials do have the right to exercise their authority only for residents oftheir municipality.
No. Members of the clergy are not coveredby the Law Against Discrimination and have the right to decline to performcivil unions.
Yes. TheRegistrar is required by law to accept for filing an application for a civilunion license so long as the application is provided to the Registrar of themunicipality in which either of the applicant’s reside or, if out of Stateresidents, in the municipality in which the ceremony will occur.
Yes. However, please note that the federalgovernment does not recognize civil unions. You may choose to consult anattorney to legally establish a name change.
Yes. You can create or edit vows. Inyour vows, you may refer to each other using any terms you prefer, includingwife, spouse, lover, or life mate, and you may refer to the ceremony as amarriage. However, when the ceremony is completed, you are legallyentered into a civil union and considered a civil union couple.
No, you must contact the state or country inwhich the death occurred.
Request a long form copy of the deathcertificate, which will have the burial location. Then you can contact thatentity for more information.
Yes. Your domestic partnership is stillvalid as it was entered into under the law in place at the time. However,you continue to have only the rights afforded to domestic partners and not thefull rights of married couples as are given to civil union couples.
No. There is no basis to recognize theassumption of the partner’s last name. A legal name change must be filed withthe courts and an original copy of the final judgment presented to the Officeof Vital Statistics and Registry.
Yes. As of February 19, 2007, domesticpartnerships can only be established by couples 62 years of age or older,regardless of whether they are a same-sex or opposite-sex couple.
No. Domestic partners who wish to enterinto a civil union with the same person do not need to terminate their domesticpartnership. Once they have entered into the civil union, their domesticpartnership will automatically terminate if it was registered in New Jersey. Ifit was registered outside New Jersey, the laws of that state would determinethe validity of the domestic partnership following the civil union.
Yes. If the domestic partnership with adifferent partner was not legally terminated, or was not terminated by thedeath of the previous partner, you must terminate the domestic partnershipbefore entering into a civil union with someone else.
Information regarding benefits can be found atthe https://nj.gov/treasury/pensions/.
An individual who has filed a completeapplication for a copy of a vital record can authorize another person to pickup the record on his or her behalf. To do so, the applicant should sign anotarized letter, stating the name of the person listed on the vital record andthe name of the individual who is picking up the record. The individual pickingup the record must present this letter along with an acceptable form ofidentification.
An ex-spouse can only obtain birth or deathrecords if the records are being obtained on behalf of a minor child that wasthe product of the marriage. Documentary proof of the minor child and the needfor the certificate must be provided.
Stepparents can only obtain a certified copy ofthe birth certificate of a stepchild with the authorization of the biologicalparent, unless the stepparent has adopted the child or has been granted custodyof the child.
An attorney can only obtain records on behalf ofa client. The attorney must show proof of being the legal representative of theclient and may only obtain the same type of copy of a vital record that theclient is eligible to receive. An attorney is not granted certified copies ofvital records solely on the basis of being an attorney.
Yes. However, if the foreign country is a memberof the Hague Treaty, the record must also contain an Apostille Seal. You cancontact the consulate of that country to determine if it is a member of theHague Treaty or obtain other specific requirements.
Certified copies of Vital Records issued by alocal Registrar CANNOT be used to obtain an Apostille Seal. You must purchase acopy of your vital record from the State of New Jersey Office of VitalStatistics and Registry and indicate on your application that it is needed forApostille Seal. You will receive a certified copy which you must forwardto the Department of Treasury requesting an Apostille Seal.
A No Match statement means the information youprovided does not exactly match a record on file. Verify the information youprovided. Submit a new application for the record with the correctedinformation. Your new application must include the required identification andfees.
A No Record statement means that there is norecord on file that corresponds to the information you provided. Verify theinformation you provided. If the information you originally gave is correct,you can request to file a delayed report be placed on file. More information ondelayed reports of birth can be found under the Birth Records portion of theFAQ’s, more information on delayed reports of marriage can be found under theMarriage Records portion of the FAQ’s.
No. Vital records require the raised seal of thelocal office of vital records or the Office of Vital Statistics and Registryseal to be considered valid. It is the administrative policy of the StateRegistrar that records are not faxed for any reason.
In order to be processed your application mustcontain all required items. To find the required information, you may wish tocheck census records, newspaper archives at the local library, the federalsocial security death index or hire an investigator. If after exhausting allalternatives you are still unable to supply the required items you will need toobtain a court order directing the Office of Vital Statistics and Registry toissue the copy.
No. Just as with opposite-sex couples, so longas your out-of-state marriage is consistent with the laws and public policy ofNew Jersey, your marriage is valid and recognized in this State and you willnot need to enter into a New Jersey marriage.
No. You must contact the state or country inwhich you were married.
Each judge of the United States Court of Appealsfor the Third Circuit, each judge of the federal district court, United Statesmagistrate, judge of a municipal court, judge of the Superior Court, judge of atax court, retired judge of the Superior Court or Tax Court, or judge of the SuperiorCourt or Tax Court, the former County Court, the former County Juvenile andDomestic Relations Court, or the former County District Court who has resignedin good standing, surrogate of any county, county clerk and any mayor or formermayor not currently serving on the municipal governing body or the deputy mayorwhen authorized by the mayor, or chairman of any township committee or villagepresident of this State, and every minister of every religion, are herebyauthorized to solemnize marriages or civil unions between such persons as maylawfully enter into the matrimonial relation or civil union; and everyreligious society, institution or organization in this State may join togetherin marriage or civil union such persons according to the rules and customs ofthe society, institution or organization. A civil celebrant shall be authorizedto solemnize marriages or civil unions if certified by the Secretary of State.
Yes. It is recommended you check the Internetwebsite for the particular Internet ministry to verify that their ministers areauthorized to perform marriage ceremonies.
No. Just as withopposite-sex couples, so long as your out-of-state marriage is consistent withthe laws and public policy of New Jersey, your marriage is valid and recognizedin this State and you will not need to enter into a New Jersey marriage.
No. Your domestic partnership will remain intactand will still be on file with the local municipality where the ceremony wasperformed or the Office of Vital Statistics and Registry after you enter intomarriage with your domestic partner.
You will not have to dissolve your civil unionin order to enter into marriage so long as you are marrying your current civilunion partner. However, if you wish to marry someone other than yourcivil union partner, then you must have your civil union dissolved before youcan enter into marriage with someone else.
Civil unions remain valid. Your civilunion will remain intact and will still be on file with the local municipalitywhere the ceremony was performed or the Office of Vital Statistics and Registryafter you enter into marriage with your civil union partner.
Civil Unions will not automatically convert tomarriages. Civil unions remain valid and couples may continue to enter intocivil unions if those so choose. A civil union couple will have to applyfor and receive a marriage license and thereafter engage in a marriage ceremonyin order to receive a marriage certificate.
Yes. TheCivil Union Act remains in full force and effect.
The couple would be entering into aremarriage. Any couple married outside of the State that wishes to renewtheir marriage commitment in New Jersey may do so by applying for and receivinga remarriage license and thereafter engage in a remarriage ceremony, as setforth at N.J.S.A. 37:1-7. The 72 hour waiting period does not apply toremarriages.
Yes. All individuals, including those already ina civil union, who apply for marriage licenses must comply with the 72 hourwaiting period unless a New Jersey Superior Court Judge enters an order waivingthe wait period due to emergency circumstances.
Couples who are currently in a civil union andhave not entered in a valid marriage outside of this State must apply for amarriage license, not a remarriage license, and must wait 72 hours beforereceiving their marriage license.